Jet Black Heart

Everything I Never Told You

image

By the time you awake,
I’ll be gone.
I cleaned the fireplace,
but left ash everywhere.
I used your latest copy
of the newspaper
to mop the floor.
I threw away the stale bread,
and lukewarm coffee.
If you stumble across
what we had, or what we lost,
give the past my regards.
I’m still searching for my
book on letting go. If you
find it, mail it to my new
address. For now I’m
casting what could have
been in the recycling bin,
and leaving muddy footprints
on my way out.
The door is now closed
but not locked.

-Tosha Michelle

View original post

Leave a Reply

