Scotland Through the Seasons: The Black Isle and Beyond

Karen Thorburn Photography

I’m waiting to catch the travel bug. I was born and brought up in Perth in central Scotland, on the edge of the Highland boundary fault; a geological divide between the dramatic landscapes of the Highlands and the more sedate rolling hills of the Lowlands. My parents bought their first touring caravan when I was three years old and, throughout my childhood, I spent my weekends and school holidays travelling around Scotland, sight-seeing, walking, cycling, and island hopping. I owned a globe and an atlas throughout my childhood and I loved learning about foreign countries and their cultures, flags and currencies; although I didn’t set foot on foreign soil until the age of twenty. Over time I’ve come to realise that my interest in the wider world is a means to understand my place within it – Scotland.

Buachaille Etive Mòr, Glen Coe, 1995 - Enjoying an unforgettable journey through the Highlands to Balmacara on the first day of the school summer holiday Buchaille Etive Mor, Glen Coe, 1995 – Enjoying an unforgettable journey through the Highlands to…

View original post 867 more words

Leave a Reply

