Inspired by Debi

Create art every day

So many artists (including artists with lenses and letters and others) inspire me here. Debi Riley is a gracious, informative, generous and gifted artist of many talents; one of them is photography.

I was recently moved by a black and white photograph of a flower she posted on her blog. I tried it in pencil first…….then moved to Polychromos colored pencil….

0207 2

Once I started sketching it…..I didn’t want to stop! Of course, cobalt teal (or something close) was a must, as I wanted Debi to smile when she saw my painting. 🙂 As Debi’s post explains, this is a wonderful exercise in looking and really seeing the flower. Although I wasn’t aiming for precision, I do find it interesting how much my ability to really see increases with the number of drawings (of any type) that I do, and in particular, with the number of times I work…

View original post 193 more words

Leave a Reply

